View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 10:05 am



Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
 Questions about carmaking/physic of the cars:Loose Gravel? 
Author Message
User avatar


Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:55 am
Posts: 89
Location: .it
Post Questions about carmaking/physic of the cars:Loose Gravel?
Hello :wave: , I'm trying to improve the physic of my WRC pack and now (probably) I've found something good. I've setted all the value of grip and slowdown, and tested them in game, but I failed to identified the surface "loose gravel" (the last parameter in CE). I've tried setting as Grip 0,1 and Slowdown 2, so the car should get stuck on loose gravel, but it never happens.
Now I'm wondering if this surface exist in GR... :scratch: so my questions are: Does loose gravel exist in GR? If yes, which one is the surface?


Fri Sep 15, 2017 9:17 am
Profile E-mail
User avatar

GeneRally Carmaster

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 7:52 pm
Posts: 1814
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Post Re: Questions about carmaking/physic of the cars:Loose Grave
Yes, it does. That is used, if I remember right, for altering grip values near gravel traps.

Attachment:
loose.png
loose.png [ 107.38 KiB | Viewed 364 times ]


Do you see those little brownish-greyish stuff on the white line at the pits? That is loose gravel. Actually loose gravel can't be created by track editor, but by switching from gravel to solid surfaces like tarmac and/or kerbs.

_________________
Founder and ex-administrator of GeneRally International Forum
Räbinä Awards: Competition organizer 2012, Carmaker 2014
My racing career, my tracks, and my cars


Fri Sep 15, 2017 4:46 pm
Profile E-mail WWW
User avatar


Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:55 am
Posts: 89
Location: .it
Post Re: Questions about carmaking/physic of the cars:Loose Grave
Thanks for the answer Herbal, but I'm still not able to identify it. You are referring to the surface called "Border" in the LandEditor by BeBeLiOuS, which practically is the same as "Gravel". I've tried now with a car with all the grip values setted as 2 and slowdown as 0,1, while "Loose gravel" has 0 as grip, and 20 as slowdown and... nothing, it goes everywhere without problems.
If I use G 0 and SD 20 on another surface, for example sand, the car will slow down even if there are few pixels of sand on the ground. If I used these values on gravel the car will slow down on both "Gravel" and "Border", so there is the risk to stay stucked while passing from tarmac to grass as in your image.

I'm start thinking that loose gravel values are completely useless....


Fri Sep 15, 2017 9:57 pm
Profile E-mail
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.