View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:32 am



Reply to topic  [ 217 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
 Your Computer Configuration 
Author Message
User avatar

GeneRally Trackmaster

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:37 pm
Posts: 4725
Location: NRW in Germany
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
I've got 500gb hard drive but I want to get rid of it ASAP. It always makes the computer crash, and you can't even install windows on a normal way :compko: I had troubles even this noon :|

_________________
My e-mail-address:xyyverwaltung@googlemail.com
Last track: deRUkt89.-Z+ - Last car: Ford Falcon GTHO Phase III


Thu Dec 23, 2010 7:30 pm
Profile
User avatar


Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:47 pm
Posts: 1426
Location: Google.fi
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
So yeah, the 2TB drive actually came before the christmas. Now there's ~3,8TB worth of space connected to the computer 24/7 + ~0,8TB of smaller and transferrable backup drives.
More space to record my own christmas carols on.. :D

XYY, I feel the pain. I had (and still have if I just use it) the same problems with my laptop. I can't really install anything on it and it pops up a screen every hour or so telling that the HDD is broken and I should change it. Maybe some day I will..

_________________
Check out my music at Youtube!
And don't forget my homepage Here!


Thu Dec 23, 2010 8:06 pm
Profile E-mail WWW
User avatar

GeneRally Trackmaster

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:37 pm
Posts: 4725
Location: NRW in Germany
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
I don't get any messages like that. but on some day it wont start at all :|

_________________
My e-mail-address:xyyverwaltung@googlemail.com
Last track: deRUkt89.-Z+ - Last car: Ford Falcon GTHO Phase III


Thu Dec 23, 2010 8:25 pm
Profile
User avatar

GeneRally Carmaster

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 10:59 am
Posts: 4128
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
I'm assuming you've checked it's not the hard drive controller/hard drive controller drivers?


Thu Dec 23, 2010 9:14 pm
Profile
User avatar

GeneRally Trackmaster

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:37 pm
Posts: 4725
Location: NRW in Germany
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
:shock: I never heard about this. But I couldnT find proper results on google. What should I do there? and is there a tool installed on any computer?
:shy: sorry if those questions seem stupid to you ;)

_________________
My e-mail-address:xyyverwaltung@googlemail.com
Last track: deRUkt89.-Z+ - Last car: Ford Falcon GTHO Phase III


Thu Dec 23, 2010 9:21 pm
Profile
User avatar

GeneRally Carmaster

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 10:59 am
Posts: 4128
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
It doesn't, I'm not really convinced that the controller DRIVERS will cause an issue with booting. A hard drive controller should properly be referred to as the controller on the IDE/PATA or SATA bus on the motherboard that your hard drive(s) and optical drive(s) are connected to. Literally, it transmits all the data around so the motherboard sees your hard drive and it can communicate with the processor etc. Wikipedia or somewhere else probably gives a better explanation, but... :)

Best way to check is to test the hard drive in another PC several times or for a prolonged period of time. Of course, whilst doing this you could always check the cables haven't gotten damaged or worked loose, you'd be amazed what SATA cables can do xD (there's no way PATA can work itself loose unless you barely put it in at all)


Thu Dec 23, 2010 9:26 pm
Profile
User avatar

GeneRally Trackmaster

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:37 pm
Posts: 4725
Location: NRW in Germany
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
Well, the problem is, I wouldn't have a computer where I could check it. My dads system is a 2004 xp 1,8ghz athlon :D But it works and works and works... (I wouldnt get permission to change the hdd there :( )

_________________
My e-mail-address:xyyverwaltung@googlemail.com
Last track: deRUkt89.-Z+ - Last car: Ford Falcon GTHO Phase III


Thu Dec 23, 2010 9:55 pm
Profile
User avatar

GeneRally Carmaster

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 10:59 am
Posts: 4128
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
And a 500 GB would *probably* not be PATA, which that Athlon would be :D


Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:18 pm
Profile
User avatar


Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:26 am
Posts: 1117
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
Added an ASUS P5Q and some memory viewtopic.php?p=1082#p1082


Fri Dec 24, 2010 12:19 am
Profile E-mail YIM
User avatar

GeneRally Carmaster

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 7:52 pm
Posts: 1815
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
I've got 4+1+5 GB space to use... :hide:

_________________
Founder and ex-administrator of GeneRally International Forum
Räbinä Awards: Competition organizer 2012, Carmaker 2014
My racing career, my tracks, and my cars


Fri Dec 24, 2010 8:03 am
Profile E-mail WWW
User avatar

GeneRally Trackmaster

Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 2:18 pm
Posts: 799
Location: Finland
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
My new computer's information:

Intel Core i3 @ ~3,1GHz (I think it's quad-core, not sure)
6GB RAM
ATI Radeon HD 5450 (1GB)
1,5TB HD

And then to comparison, my old computer:

AMD Sempron *something* @ 1,8GHz
1GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce 7600GE (256MB)
75GB HD

Not a bad update. :mrgreen: And by the way, it was bought by me and myself, not by my parents... :bsmile:

_________________
Lönnby Idrottspark // Wet Wop - With Darjo // Piazza San Bob // More tracks


Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:20 pm
Profile E-mail
User avatar


Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:47 pm
Posts: 1426
Location: Google.fi
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
Welp, I found a place for the second screen (for now atleast). Why didn't I think about this earlier, it makes my life so much easier when playing the piano!


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Check out my music at Youtube!
And don't forget my homepage Here!


Sun Jan 02, 2011 8:44 pm
Profile E-mail WWW
User avatar


Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 6:36 am
Posts: 789
Location: Fremont, USA
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
I'm at home, away from my new college computer, and the charger for my laptop has broken, so until I get a new one I'm stuck with...

AMD Athlon XP 2400+
512 MB RAM
GeForce MX 440
200W power supply

At least it can play GR :D

_________________
I like short, simple signatures!


Mon Jan 03, 2011 4:17 am
Profile E-mail
User avatar

GeneRally Carmaster

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 10:59 am
Posts: 4128
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
Just swapped the power supply in my old computer for a new one, now it no longer smells of burning electronics. xD


Mon Jan 03, 2011 11:58 am
Profile
User avatar


Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 6:36 am
Posts: 789
Location: Fremont, USA
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
Well, I ordered a new charger for my laptop, with very good reviews on Amazon... it worked for 5 minutes and then died ;( So this is typed on the desktop again...

_________________
I like short, simple signatures!


Tue Jan 04, 2011 9:06 am
Profile E-mail
User avatar

GeneRally Carmaster

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 10:59 am
Posts: 4128
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
Consider that the fault may be either with the actual laptop shorting something, or even a dodgy plug socket (unlikely but possible) - of course it could also be a very unlucky second dud charger (or you just reused the old one by accident if you hadn't disposed of this).

Also, ordered a Tsunami Capricorn case for this PC. xD


Tue Jan 04, 2011 5:40 pm
Profile
User avatar


Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 6:36 am
Posts: 789
Location: Fremont, USA
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
Yeah, it's almost certainly the laptop... and will cost at least $150 to fix, unless my father can do it, of which I'm doubtful...

_________________
I like short, simple signatures!


Sat Jan 08, 2011 7:50 am
Profile E-mail
User avatar

GeneRally Carmaster

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 10:59 am
Posts: 4128
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
Ouch. I've fitted my PC into its new case, took 3.5 hours due to various finicky things and Dell not labelling where the front panel cables go on the motherboard! xD I still don't have a power LED as it's a 3 pin connector and there's no room on the board for it... xD


Sat Jan 08, 2011 8:59 am
Profile
User avatar


Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 12:06 pm
Posts: 922
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
Don't know any other thread to post this. But anyway.

I could get used to this. :yummy: Download speed: 825kb/s. :)

_________________
"If you really think and say you want to do it and believe you can do it. And you have ability to drive a car. Then you will do it." - Colin McRae

"Disappointments are part of the game. It’s how you deal with them that matters."- Kimi Räikkönen

"Everything I do about motor racing, I enjoy it. Anything because it is my passion."- Francois Cevert


Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:06 am
Profile E-mail
User avatar


Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 6:36 am
Posts: 789
Location: Fremont, USA
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
You should go to my college!

Image

_________________
I like short, simple signatures!


Sat Feb 05, 2011 6:47 pm
Profile E-mail
User avatar

GeneRally Carmaster

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 10:59 am
Posts: 4128
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
I think he might be on about the downloading actual files speed, rather than the raw throughput. :)


Sat Feb 05, 2011 8:45 pm
Profile
User avatar


Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 12:06 pm
Posts: 922
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
Yeah the file downloading is 825kb/s. The raw throughput is aroun 8Mb/s.

_________________
"If you really think and say you want to do it and believe you can do it. And you have ability to drive a car. Then you will do it." - Colin McRae

"Disappointments are part of the game. It’s how you deal with them that matters."- Kimi Räikkönen

"Everything I do about motor racing, I enjoy it. Anything because it is my passion."- Francois Cevert


Sat Feb 05, 2011 9:38 pm
Profile E-mail
User avatar


Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 6:36 am
Posts: 789
Location: Fremont, USA
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
Oh, that makes more sense. I have gotten 4-5 Mbps sometimes... of course, that's when no one is using the connection. At congested times, my connection can't load Youtube videos quickly enough... ;(

_________________
I like short, simple signatures!


Sun Feb 06, 2011 8:05 pm
Profile E-mail


Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 1:30 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
I found that topic with the search engine. I wanted to ask about Computer configuration,

I planning to buy tomorow :

Tower : Xigmatek Asgard III
motherboard : Gigabyte Z77-DS3H
proc : I7 3770
Video : GTX660 2Go
RAM : Kingston DDR3 1600 8 Go
proc fan : Cooler Master Hyper 412S
Power supply : be quiet! 630W
HDD 1 : Samsung 840 128Go
HDD 2 : WD Green Desktop SATA III
Tower fan : 2x Arctic Cooling
Screen : Dell UltraSharp U2312HM
+ HDMI to DVI Cable
+ random keyboard

Did I forgot something? some modification suggestion?
I allready have a G27 and a mouse


Mon Feb 25, 2013 7:39 pm
Profile E-mail
User avatar


Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 6:57 pm
Posts: 1545
Location: Czech Republic
Post Re: Your Computer Configuration
My computer has this configuration:
Intel Celeron 1,00ghz
256mb RAM
64mb integrated graphics
40gb HDD
win XP sp3
:rofl:

But i have already bought this:
Intel socket 775 2x2,8ghz
2gb RAM
Palit GeForce 430 2gb
120 gb HDD
win XP sp3 trial version( i have planned to install win 7 64bit)

_________________
(last edit: 15/07/2016)


Last edited by FRUKIScze on Tue Feb 26, 2013 8:28 am, edited 2 times in total.



Mon Feb 25, 2013 8:49 pm
Profile E-mail ICQ WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 217 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.