View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun May 20, 2018 11:00 pm



Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Texture Change (Asset Change) 
Author Message
User avatar

GeneRally Trackmaster

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 1:03 pm
Posts: 400
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Post Texture Change (Asset Change)
Mods, if you deem this inappropriate, please remove this topic

So basically, took a look at the files and thought why not change some of the textures. Seems like at the moment you can do a fair bit of modding, so here's what I suppose could be the first mod for GR... If you can call it that.

At this stage, there isn't too many LMap textures to choose from, or at least that I found. The LMap is modifiable but I chose to leave it as it is. This just consists of some texture updates to demonstrate what can be done.

So if you're looking at track making... Could be a little more complex now but you can probably choose colours to suit your taste, mainly the lack of red soft walls. :shhh:

Code:
BEFORE DOING ANYTHING:
Please make a copy of the file "sharedassets1.assets" in your GR2_KS_Demo_data folder
before installing.

============================
TEXTURE CHANGE
v0.1
By Crowella
============================
Description:
Change to the demo track file assets to show different colour buildings, different
colour soft walls and gravel traps.

Installation:
Simply replace sharedassets1.assets (in GR2_KS_Demo_data folder) with the one contained
in the zip file.

Comments:
- This was done to demonstrate the possible addons that can be done to/for GR 2.0. On
looking at the asset file, it seems to me that it may be possible to add more objects,
and even edit the LMap in there. I did attempt to do so but I had issues with lighting.
- I am aware of the issues with the shadows and the colours of some textures in the
day to night transistion. I'm afraid this is a lighting engine issue and I have
chosen colours to try and avoid issues but alas, can't seem to work around it.
- While I have modified this file, I cannot guarantee it will work on all systems so
if you have any issues, let me know.
- Nothing here modifies the actual physics of the game, merely the aesthetics.


Merged double reply from Tue Jun 10, 2014 8:47 pm:

And as added, here is some proof of a changable LMap. I couldn't figure out just yet how to get it to correspond well with the lighting engine.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Latest Circuits - [cir] Faerie | [cir] Casedure
Latest Cars - [lmp] Aola Proto1 | [tou] Aola Coupé1
View my archived circuits/cars here
Skype: crowella90


Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:45 am
Profile E-mail
User avatar

GeneRally Trackmaster

Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 7:26 pm
Posts: 267
Post Re: Texture Change (Asset Change)
Nice work - Tuomo filled me in a little earlier :)

Not quite wanting to rain on the parade this early... but there will be very significant changes in this area. At the moment, what's in the demo you have is just a bunch of assets slapped into a Unity package... there are no overt car or track formats at the moment (well, there are, but they're run through our importer, not loaded directly into the engine yet). These will be coming during alpha, along with the track/car editors ;)

One thing we're going to be careful about is object changes - and it's still something we have to decide whether we're going 100% with the method in GR1 (no third-party objects at all), or whether we're going to have some kind of system for it (but that might lead to tracks that are far too 'complex' for GR's style - and we don't want to ruin style for the sake of some objects).

Either way, as I said, nice investigative skills - I'm sure there's plenty in the demo assets you can figure out to replace ;)

_________________
GeneRally Developer
Website - Developer Blog


Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:54 am
Profile
User avatar

GeneRally Trackmaster

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 1:03 pm
Posts: 400
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Post Re: Texture Change (Asset Change)
Ah, thought he might have.

Yeah, I think the main thing I was highlighting here is at this stage is that there are some really flexible options, and some that aren't so flexible. Palette's, which I think a lot of people like using, can be implemented pretty easily, especially if they are common amongst all tracks.

And thank you. I have to put my degree to some use. :ugeek:

I looked at the track format and I can tell it's not optimised but so early on, it's understandable. Was kind of a headache. I figured out how to change textures on objects and change the objects themselves. Not move them or scale them yet. :shhh:

_________________
Latest Circuits - [cir] Faerie | [cir] Casedure
Latest Cars - [lmp] Aola Proto1 | [tou] Aola Coupé1
View my archived circuits/cars here
Skype: crowella90


Last edited by Crowella on Tue Jun 10, 2014 11:00 am, edited 1 time in total.



Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:57 am
Profile E-mail
User avatar

GeneRally Trackmaster

Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 7:26 pm
Posts: 267
Post Re: Texture Change (Asset Change)
Crowella wrote:
Yeah, I think the main thing I was highlighting here is at this stage is that there are some really flexible options, and some that aren't so flexible. Palette's, which I think a lot of people like using, can be implemented pretty easily, especially if they are common amongst all tracks.

By all means, go ahead and fiddle! It's what I'd do in your shoes :P

If you find anything you think we might need to know about, or might find useful, do let me know via PM/email. Would be interested to hear your thoughts on the idea of what should and shouldn't be user-moddable come release, too ;)

_________________
GeneRally Developer
Website - Developer Blog


Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:58 am
Profile
User avatar

GeneRally Trackmaster

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 1:03 pm
Posts: 400
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Post Re: Texture Change (Asset Change)
I did manage to make a few things glitch out. I'm taking that the chances of this stuff happening with the proper editor will be extremely unlikely but I did manage to make a garage disappear too.

To explain to people, at the moment, the assets are tied in with the track itself. This is why you don't necessarily have a .trk file or anything like that at the moment. Those that have worked with unity may know how to access these assets and have a look at them. I won't say get your hopes up yet because understandably like James said, the format will change (just like it did between 1.05 and 1.1).


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Latest Circuits - [cir] Faerie | [cir] Casedure
Latest Cars - [lmp] Aola Proto1 | [tou] Aola Coupé1
View my archived circuits/cars here
Skype: crowella90


Tue Jun 10, 2014 11:07 am
Profile E-mail
User avatar


Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 1058
Location: Santiago, Chile
Post Re: Texture Change (Asset Change)
Crowella wrote:
I did manage to make a few things glitch out. I'm taking that the chances of this stuff happening with the proper editor will be extremely unlikely but I did manage to make a garage disappear too.

To explain to people, at the moment, the assets are tied in with the track itself. This is why you don't necessarily have a .trk file or anything like that at the moment. Those that have worked with unity may know how to access these assets and have a look at them. I won't say get your hopes up yet because understandably like James said, the format will change (just like it did between 1.05 and 1.1).

:iagree:


Tue Jun 10, 2014 11:11 am
Profile E-mail
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.